// // //

English Championship Winners



    This is the ENGLISH CHAMPIONSHIP Winners page where you can view all of the Winners and Runners Up for all previous seasons.

    This also includes third place and Play-off winners where applicable.

    Section is only applicable to leagues where the division was split into more than one part.


    Football League Championship (2004 to present)

    SeasonSectionWinnersRunners-UpAlso Promoted or ThirdPlayoff Winner
    2015–16 none Burnley Middlesbrough none Hull City 
    2014–15 none AFC Bournemouth Watford none Norwich City 
    2013–14 none Leicester City Burnley none Queens Park Rangers 
    2012–13 none Cardiff City Hull City none Crystal Palace 
    2011–12 none Reading Southampton none West Ham United 
    2010–11 none Queens Park RangersΒ  Norwich City none Swansea City 
    2009–10 none Newcastle United West Bromwich Albion none Blackpool 
    2008–09 none Wolverhampton Wanderers Birmingham City none Burnley 
    2007–08 none West Bromwich Albion Stoke City none Hull City 
    2006–07 none Sunderland Birmingham City none Derby County 
    2005–06 none Reading Sheffield United none Watford 
    2004–05 none Sunderland Wigan Athletic none West Ham United 

    Football League First Division (1992 to 2004)

    SeasonSectionWinnersRunners-UpAlso Promoted or ThirdPlayoff Winner
    2003–04 none Norwich CityΒ  West Bromwich Albion none Crystal Palace 
    2002–03 none Portsmouth Leicester City none Wolverhampton Wanderers 
    2001–02 none Manchester City West Bromwich Albion none Birmingham City 
    2000–01 none Fulham Blackburn Rovers none Bolton Wanderers 
    1999–00 none Charlton Athletic Manchester City none Ipswich Town 
    1998–99 none Sunderland Bradford City none Watford 
    1997–98 none Nottingham Forest Middlesbrough none Charlton Athletic 
    1996–97 none Bolton Wanderers Barnsley none Crystal Palace 
    1995–96 none Sunderland Derby County none Leicester City 
    1994–95 none Middlesbrough Reading (not promoted) none Bolton Wanderers 
    1993–94 none Crystal Palace Nottingham Forest none Leicester City 
    1992–93 none Newcastle United West Ham United none Swindon Town 

    Football League Second Division (1893 to 1992)

    SeasonSectionWinnersRunners-UpAlso Promoted or ThirdPlayoff Winner
    1991–92 none Ipswich Town Middlesbrough Blackburn Rovers none 
    1990–91 none Oldham Athletic West Ham United Sheffield Wednesday none 
    1989–90 none Leeds United Sheffield United Sunderland none 
    1988–89 none Chelsea Manchester City Crystal Palace none 
    1987–88 none Millwall Aston Villa Middlesbrough none 
    1986–87 none Derby County Portsmouth none none 
    1985–86 none Norwich CityΒ  Charlton Athletic Wimbledon none 
    1984–85 none Oxford United Birmingham City Manchester City none 
    1983–84 none Chelsea Sheffield Wednesday Newcastle United none 
    1982–83 none Queens Park Rangers Wolverhampton Wanderers Sunderland none 
    1981–82 none Luton Town Watford Norwich City none 
    1980–81 none West Ham United Notts County Swansea City none 
    1979–80 none Leicester City Sunderland Birmingham City none 
    1978–79 none Crystal Palace Brighton & Hove Albion Stoke City none 
    1977–78 none Bolton Wanderers Southampton Tottenham Hotspur none 
    1976–77 none Wolverhampton Wanderers Chelsea Nottingham Forest none 
    1975–76 none Sunderland Bristol City West Bromwich Albion none 
    1974–75 none Manchester United Aston Villa Norwich City none 
    1973–74 none Middlesbrough Luton Town Carlisle United none 
    1972–73 none Burnley Queens Park Rangers none none 
    1971–72 none Norwich City Birmingham City none none 
    1970–71 none Leicester City Sheffield United none none 
    1969–70 none Huddersfield Town Blackpool none none 
    1968–69 none Derby County Crystal Palace none none 
    1967–68 none Ipswich Town Queens Park Rangers none none 
    1966–67 none Coventry City Wolverhampton Wanderers none none 
    1965–66 none Manchester City Southampton none none 
    1964–65 none Newcastle United Northampton Town none none 
    1963–64 none Leeds United Sunderland none none 
    1962–63 none Stoke City Chelsea none none 
    1961–62 none Liverpool Leyton Orient none none 
    1960–61 none Ipswich Town Sheffield United none none 
    1959–60 none Aston Villa Cardiff City none none 
    1958–59 none Sheffield Wednesday Fulham none none 
    1957–58 none West Ham United Blackburn Rovers none none 
    1956–57 none Leicester City Nottingham Forest none none 
    1955–56 none Sheffield Wednesday Leeds United none none 
    1954–55 none Birmingham City Luton Town none none 
    1953–54 none Leicester City Everton none none 
    1952–53 none Sheffield United Huddersfield Town none none 
    1951–52 none Sheffield Wednesday Cardiff City none none 
    1950–51 none Preston North End Manchester City none none 
    1949–50 none Tottenham Hotspur Sheffield Wednesday none none 
    1948–49 none Fulham West Bromwich Albion none none 
    1947–48 none Birmingham City Newcastle United none none 
    1946–47 none Manchester City Burnley none none 
    1939-46 none WW2 WW2 WW2 WW2 
    1938–39 none Blackburn Rovers Sheffield United none none 
    1937–38 none Aston Villa Manchester United none none 
    1936–37 none Leicester City Blackpool none none 
    1935–36 none Manchester United Charlton Athletic none none 
    1934–35 none Brentford Bolton Wanderers none none 
    1933–34 none Grimsby Town Preston North End none none 
    1932–33 none Stoke City Tottenham Hotspur none none 
    1931–32 none Wolverhampton Wanderers Leeds United none none 
    1930–31 none Everton West Bromwich Albion none none 
    1929–30 none Blackpool Chelsea none none 
    1928–29 none Middlesbrough Grimsby Town none none 
    1927–28 none Manchester City Leeds United none none 
    1926–27 none Middlesbrough Portsmouth none none 
    1925–26 none Sheffield Wednesday Derby County none none 
    1924–25 none Leicester City Manchester United none none 
    1923–24 none Leeds United Bury none none 
    1922–23 none Notts County West Ham United none none 
    1921–22 none Nottingham Forest Stoke City none none 
    1920–21 none Birmingham City Cardiff City none none 
    1919–20 none Tottenham Hotspur Huddersfield Town none none 
    1915–19 none WW1 WW1 WW1 WW1 
    1914–15 none Derby County Preston North End Arsenal none 
    1913–14 none Notts County Bradford Park Avenue none none 
    1912–13 none Preston North End Burnley none none 
    1911–12 none Derby County Chelsea none none 
    1910–11 none West Bromwich Albion Bolton Wanderers none none 
    1909–10 none Manchester City Oldham Athletic none none 
    1908–09 none Bolton Wanderers Tottenham Hotspur none none 
    1907–08 none Bradford City Leicester City none none 
    1906–07 none Nottingham Forest Chelsea none none 
    1905–06 none Bristol City Manchester United none none 
    1904–05 none Liverpool Bolton Wanderers none none 
    1903–04 none Preston North End Woolwich Arsenal none none 
    1902–03 none Manchester City Small Heath none none 
    1901–02 none West Bromwich Albion Middlesbrough none none 
    1900–01 none Grimsby Town Small Heath none none 
    1899–00 none Sheffield Wednesday Bolton Wanderers none none 
    1898–99 none Manchester City Glossop North End none none 
    1897–98 none Burnley Newcastle United none none 
    1896–97 none Notts County Newton Heath none none 
    1895–96 none Liverpool Manchester City none none 
    1894–95 none Bury Notts County none none 
    1893–94 none Liverpool Birmingham City none none 
    1892–93 none Small Heath Sheffield United Darwen none